Countess and Lady of the Rose for Corotica Merkka Senebelenae

Well, I got this honor as well. I was so happy to make a scroll for my squire sibling as they stepped down as royal consort. I had a shorter timeframe than usual because there were things out of my control and up in the air. I leaned on good friend, expert, and husband of Corotica for help selecting some Iron Age inspiration (truly it takes a village sometimes!) I ended up settling on The Desborough Mirror, which apparently is a common choice for Iron Age inspired art. I wish I had known that!

But, I do think the choice of a mirror for this piece is right because I think it’s a symbolic representation of Corotica’s reign because the kingdom really reflected their success as a royal. The kingdom was not only better for it- but I think they grew into the role as well. And I’m not saying all that because I’m biased for my squire sibling, either. It’s all true!

Order of the Rose and Countess Scroll for Countess Corotica. Scroll done by me, picture taken by Brenden Crane because I didn’t take a good picture before leaving! Rookie mistake 😂

Gouache and Paladium on Bristol. Calligraphy with iron gall ink and red ink. 

Inspiration: The Desborough Mirror, 50 BC- 50 AC

The Desborough Mirror, 50 BC – 50 AC

Words by Aciterix Caldius Julius Cittinius aka Kit de Coldwood, which are spectacular as always (read them at the end of this post!)

Now some progress pictures!

You can see in some of these pictures below that I was struggling with the palladium sticking. I do think the palladium was the right choice for this piece and it does reflect the vibe I wanted because it’s kind of unique and interesting on a scroll but it would have to be very special recipient for me to try this much palladium on one scroll again!

So, the thing I learned in this piece is that palladium is much more challenging to work on compared to gold leaf. It’s not as prone to sticking and nothing I could do helped! Ugh. I think that humidity and also the thickness and layers of miniature may be something to look into in the future. (Hey maybe I can pick Duchess Katherine’s brain about this, she did a cool palladium scroll a few years ago).

Also, this is a lot of palladium; you can see my Gilding Graveyard below. I also struggled with how much shading and detail to do in the painted parts because I wanted it to look Iron Age and not a later period piece. I also was worried about it looking unnatural.

Gilding Graveyard, 2023

Anyway, thank you for checking out my post on this piece. I’m almost caught up with the pieces I wanted to talk about! The next couple will be out this week, hopefully. See you soon!

Words by Aciterix Caldius Julius Cittinius aka Kit de Coldwood

“Cold knife-cuts of wicked North Wind, Hale falls, and Hail the reign of Corotica! A Winter Wolf of her verdant lands, She strode Summer’s searing war, spear in hand. A Princess of the blade, Army, and the People. And no less so into her Reign, a Queen! She delivered her deep dedication. Turning her target from Foe to Fostering Joy, A Season of Peace and Friendship once again. Fierce and Strong, Kind and Generous, A Flowering vine Growing strong, Along the wall of a battlement. The Beauty of a Rose housed in Crenelations.   And so on this day of our spring’s Coronation The First day of April, Anno Societatis LVII We, Brennan and Caoilfhionn Brenin and Brenhines of the East Recognize Corotica merkka Senebelenae this day with the title of Countess and as a lady of the Rose With all the honors, privileges, and dignities Appertaining thereunto, most especially the Right to bear these arms by Letters Patent”

Author: Embla Knutrdottir

I'm a 34 year old with a lot going on! I hope to share some of it with you!

Leave a comment