Order of the Tyger’s Combatant for Leurona Winterbourne

This is a scroll I did for Leurona’s OTC. I was very excited to do this one because I could be a bit playful because I am friends with Leurona. Because she has cats, I decided to lean into the cat theme. I really enjoyed exploring how to make cat prints (I used raw polymer clay) and I think it came out okay!

The other relevant bit is that I did not get great pictures of the finished scroll. Whoops. Luckily, I got the following picture from Leurona’s FB page.

Words by Aciterix Caldius Julius Cittinius, AKA Kit de Cordwood (below).

Calligraphy and illumination by me

Gold leaf gilding, gouache, and iron gall ink on Bristol paper.

First attempts of printing paw prints using a (raw) polymer clay stamp and ink. I was really happy with these results but one challenge is getting the right amount of ink onto something that doesn’t like ink.

Source: Psalter with calendar, prayers, litany, and offices, 1310-1324 (Add MS 49622)

Anyway, very fun scroll and happy I got to be a part of my friend’s day!

Words by Aciterix Caldius Julius Cittinius, AKA Kit de Cordwood.

Do not seek the sword, For vainglory. The sword does not give. The sword takes. Hours, as the sun Folds itself into the horizon, These moments spent in kata. Carving form into memory. Your vices, indulgent whims Fall aside, cut out. Small pleasures of the flesh Released for possible gains. The sword takes. It does not change you. It strips the excess, And then takes more. Do not seek the sword, Not for glory or honour. If you have honour, The sword will find it, As you are, piecemeal, Pared away. Leurona Winterbourne, By her own claws and sword, Has cut herself into a singular Tiger, A Combatant of calibre, A blade of the East. And so we, (names of the royals) Welcome her into the Order of the Tigers Combattant, this (day and event)

Author: Embla Knutrdottir

I'm a 34 year old with a lot going on! I hope to share some of it with you!

Leave a comment